Where I Write

IMG_2756

“Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing”

– Benjamin Franklin

Since I have been in college, one of the best things I find my inspiration to write in is in the world around me. People watching, observing my surroundings, and listening to the sounds around me, I love to take inspiration from even the littlest thing, and make a story from it. I thrive in a chaotic environment I have found. I put in my headphones and listen to a calming station and zone into my headspace, becoming laser focus on the scenes before me. My favorite place to do this is in the Fairfield Bookstore Starbucks. I do my little ritual – putting in my headphones and zoning into my headspace, and watch the scene before me. whether it be a grandma and her grandchildren drinking a pink colored smoothie, a fifth grade clique planning their next sleepover or a student reading quietly to themselves, I try to find something to at least think about and mull over for a story.

And when I am not planning a story, I just love to sit here in the Starbucks with the great open windows and study – especially on rainy days like the one pictured, with the drops slicked onto the windows, the wind blowing and the water crashing under the tires of cars.

One thought on “Where I Write

Leave a Reply

